Innovative YPO Members Celebrated As EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 In US

EY announced the 2019 US national and regional award winners for the 33rd annual EY Entrepreneur Of The Year® program.

Thirty-six YPO members have been recognized for their bold ambition — two honored as national award winners.

Through the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year program, EY celebrates the unstoppable individuals who deliver innovation, growth and prosperity that transform our world. Since its inception in 1986, the program has grown dramatically and now includes more than 145 cities in over  60 countries worldwide.

Meet some of the exceptional men and women YPO members transforming the face of industry, creating jobs and contributing to the vibrancy of communities:

Under Molly North’s leadership, commercial real estate developer Al. Neyer is transitioning from a family-run business to a modern model of employee ownership. North is the overall winner of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 U.S. Real Estate, Hospitality and Construction award. Based in Cincinnati, Al. Neyer is a 125-year-old commercial real estate development and design-build firm, with expertise in planning industrial buildings and corporate headquarters and restoring historic structures. Under North, the company has expanded to Nashville and Raleigh, adding to its Cincinnati headquarters and an office in Pittsburgh. North was asked to step into the role of CEO in 2015. She agreed, with one caveat: ownership of the company would convert from the Neyer family, after five generations of family control, to the company’s employees. Read more about North and hear her acceptance speech.

How do you take the reins of your family’s business with only two years of experience? For Thomas Hartland‑Mackie, it came down to the advice of his grandfather Tom Mackie, founder of City Electric Supply (CES): “If you take care of your employees, they take care of your customers.” Hartland-Mackie is the overall winner of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 US Family Enterprise award. At 18, he decided to leave Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, after his freshman year to begin a training program at the third-generation electrical wholesaler and retailer. The program immersed him in all aspects of the business, from working on production lines in the U.S. and UK to staffing wholesale branches in the U.S. and Spain. That breadth of experience would prove useful sooner than expected: a rift rocked the family, and by the time Hartland-Mackie was 20, he was in charge of the company’s North American branch. Read more about Hartland-Mackie and hear his acceptance speech.

Congratulations to the YPO members recognized for the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year program in 2019:

Adam C. Walker, Chairman & CEO, Summit Packaging Solutions, Alpharetta, Georgia
Adam Wallenstein, President, Neptune Plumbing & Heating Co., Cleveland, Ohio

Amir Dan Rubin, Chair, CEO & President, One Medical, San Francisco, California
Amy Derick, M.D., Founder & CEO, Derick Dermatology, Elgin, Illinois
Chuck Gordon, CEO, Storable (fka SpareFoot), Austin, Texas
Crystal Morris, President/CEO, Gator Cases Inc., Tampa, Florida

Clark Hunt, Chairman & CEO, Kansas City Chiefs/FC Dallas, Dallas, Texas
Daniel Broukhim, Co-Founder and Co-CEO, FabFitFun, Los Angeles, California
Eric Berry, CEO, TripleLift, New York, New York
Geoff Gross, CEO, Medical Guardian, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Heidi Zak, Co-Founder and Co-CEO, ThirdLove, San Francisco, California
Jayson Dubin, CEO, Playwire, Deerfield Beach, Florida
Jessica Cole, President and CEO, Becker’s Healthcare, Chicago, Illinois
Jessica Hawthorne-Castro, CEO & Owner, Hawthorne Advertising , Los Angeles, California

John Pham, CEO & Co-Founder, INBRACE, Irvine, California
Jonathan Morgan, President, Morgan Properties, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Joseph Mirabile, President & CEO USSC Group, Exton, Pennsylvania
Josh Meyers, CEO, Slickdeals, Los Angeles, California
Juan Jose Sanchez, President, Clase Azul Spirits, San Francisco & Guadalajara, Mexico
Mark Petroff, President/CEO, OneMagnify, Detroit, Michigan
Michael Bor, CEO, CarLotz, Richmond, Virginia

Michael J. Plank, Chairman/CEO, The Plank Companies, Inc., Houston, Texas
Molly North, President & CEO, Al. Neyer, Cincinnati, Ohio (overall winner real estate category)
Nate Snyder, CEO/Co-Founder, Ovation Fertility, Los Angeles, California
Rob Ceravolo, CEO, Tropic Ocean Airways, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Rob Keve, CEO, Flow Commerce Inc., Hoboken, New Jersey
Sharon Rechter, Co-Founder and president, first media, Los Angeles, California
Shegun Otulana, Founder/CEO, Therapy Brands, Birmingham, Alabama
Stephane Kasriel, CEO, Upwork, San Francisco, California
Thomas Hartland-Mackie, President & CEO, City Electric Supply, Dallas, Texas (overall winner Family Enterprise)
Tim Britt, CEO, Synoptek, NEWPORT Beach, California
Tommy Duncan, Founder & CEO , Trusted Health Plans, Inc., Washington D.C.
Tricia Wallwork, Chair/CEO, Milo’s Tea Company, Birmingham, Alabama

EY is YPO’s strategic learning advisor. The above list of EY Entrepreneur Of The Year honorees represents the YPO members who gave consent to appear in Ignite.


Mary Sigmond is a content strategist, an award-winning storyteller and editor in chief of YPO's Ignite digital magazine. She has the pleasure of telling the engaging stories of some of the most influential young business leaders who are making an impact across the globe.